The 4 Biggest Cricket Events

Cricket is a past time that has been enjoyed by the majority over the world for the last 200 years. In that time, the sport has spread to dozens of different countries across the globe, is watched by billions of fans, and boasts some of the most spectacular tournaments in the sporting scene.

Whether it’s simply for the enjoying of the sport, or wanting to keep track of the best cricket events worth putting money on, these are the biggest cricket tournaments that take place around the planet.

1. The ICC Cricket World Cup

Arguably the biggest event that takes place in the world of cricket, the ICC Cricket World Cup is held every four years, and home to some of the most memorable cricket matches in recent years, along with being the sport’s most watched ever.

The World Cup consists of a total of 4 stages, Super 8, 6, as well as semi finals and finals. It’s the final destination for those teams that have done particularly well over the last four years, and is a paradise for those bettors that are taking a short break from online pokies Australia.

2. T20 World Cup

While it’s the shortest cricket tournament in the world, it’s also one of the most popular, and has seen some of the biggest sixes in the history of the sport.

The first event started in 2011 where India won the trophy, and over the years it’s been a playground for the best that the world has to offer.

3. The Indian Premier League

Also known as the IPL, the Indian Premier League is a watched by millions of people all around the world, and was born out of the successes of the Indian team during the 2007 World T20.

The first game, which took place in 2008, proved to be a phenomenal success, with the Rajasthan Royals taking the first season for their own.

Since then, the IPL has grown in popularity every year, and a winning title from the event has become coveted among all nations that take part in international cricket.

4. The Ashes

The Ashes is the oldest and most iconic cricket series ever. The Ashes was originally born out of a Test series between Australia and England that took place at Melbourne Cricket Ground in 1877, and it proved so popular that The Ashes was started up five years later in 1882 in the wake of England losing to Australia at the Oval just a few months prior.

The series has since become almost biblical in its proportions, and is watched fervently by countless millions from the cricketing world.

Of the 68 series that have taken place until today, Australia have won a total of 32, an impressive feat when compared to England’s 31, along with five draws. Australia has also claimed 254 centuries over the years, and have taken 10 wickets during matches on 41 separate occasions. In comparison, England has only earned 212 centuries, and have taken 10 wickets in matches in just 38 games.